Digital Citizenship Today

Digital Citizenship: A concept where, according too Digital Citizenship.net, a person uses information technology in society. When I first heard of this, I immediately thought how much good technology has increased our research and communication world. Then I started looking at a few resources that talked a lot about behaving ethically online and cyber bullying. This made me realize that there is a whole different side to digital citizenship that I was going to be learning about then I thought. The more I researched, the more I realized that people not behaving ethically on the internet is a really big problem in today’s society. Many of those people are children whom are acting in a way that will have a lasting impact on their future without them even knowing it. While continuing to research I all of a sudden thought that this is going to be a major concept that I am going to need to be informing my future students about and I am going to need to be well educated on it! So my research goes on…

6241451699_cc186f1640_b

PhotoCC: immsm

According too What Is Digital Literacy Video, it is important to begin approaching digital citizenship with an ethical core. “Students should be active, creative, knowledgeable, and ethical participants in our globally networked society (U.S. Dept. of Education,2010).” They should not be using social media and the internet to post inappropriate content, or to use it as a way of bullying. Many kids and young adults are acting in this behavior because, I feel, they look at it as sort of like a game. They can act and do whatever they want, but when it is shut off it is done and does not exist. That is certainly not the case. In this video below, it talks about how permanent your online life really is and the damaging effects it can leave.

Here are a few of the key issues that are with kids today and digital citizenship that stood out to me the most:

  1. Lack of education on consequences of bad online behavior (also lack of consequences)
  2. The amount of time kids spend on social media
  3. How simple it is to put something inappropriate online
  4. Lack of parent or guardian knowledge of what their child is doing online

I have been learning and researching a lot about how to become a successful teacher in the 21st century. The concept of digital citizenship is going to be so important for me to understand, especially because of how much technology is expanding. It is heart braking for me to think about a student ruining years and years of hard work academically by a social media post, especially if they were not educated on the consequences of it. I feel like as teachers we can help prevent a lot of students abuse of the internet by educating them on ways to be more cautious and ethical, and also inform them on all of the consequences of their actions. I am excited to keep moving forward on expanding my knowledge!

Leave a Reply

