Literacy in the Digital Age: 1st 8 Weeks

When I first saw that I was enrolled into the class Literacy in the Digital Age, my expectations for it were nothing too spectacular because I am not a huge fan of online classes. I thought that it would just be another online class where the professor does not communicate well and the assignments will all be pretty generic and easy. When I first started on Module 1, I learned that this was not going to be my average online class. I had a question so I emailed my professor, and she had replied within 30 minutes of my email! That NEVER happens! I was a little overwhelmed at first because I will be the first to admit that I am not the greatest with technology. I have never blogged before, I had no idea what “widgets” were, and I have never really been an avid Tweeter. Although I was timid and a little afraid of the unknown, I took a leap of faith and dove into the digital world!

I have learned so many new things these past eight weeks it’s crazy! When I look back at the 7 modules that I have completed throughout the last 8 weeks, I see challenges, successes, failures, and feel so many different emotions about them. The most challenging module, for me, would have to be Module 5: Building Your Personal Learning Network. This module was not challenging in the aspect of the assignments being difficult, it was challenging in a thinking way. What I mean by this, is that this module made me sit down and think long and hard about where to begin with my personal learning network, and who all I wanted to be involved with it. I spent much more time on this module than the others simply because I wanted my network to be as close as perfect as possible, and I wanted to try to include everyone and everything that was going to be beneficial. I found myself being a lot more picky than I ever thought!

8453536748_6d6fed039d_k.jpg

Photo CC: Globalona Game Design

My favorite module, and one that I thought was the most interesting, was Module 4: Passion Based Learning. I loved this module because I really learned a lot about how I want to teach my future students. Researching passion based learning and reading articles on it really opened my eyes to a whole new outlook on education. This module also helped strengthen my Individualized Learning Project immensely and really made me remember why I am going into education.

At the beginning of this class I realized that I am going to be going into a whole new world of teaching full of technology, which scared me. Now, this class has also made me realize that I can do this, and that I can be confident in learning new things! The more I learn and experiment with digital learning, the more excited I am to becoming a 21st Century teacher. This class is giving me the tools that I need to become educated on how to best educate my students, using all resources that will be available. What I am looking forward too learning in the next eight weeks, is hopefully continually learning new things each module, and more class discussion! I am so excited to see what else will be in store for the future of this class.

2 thoughts on “Literacy in the Digital Age: 1st 8 Weeks

  1. 2shaye says:

    I’m always pleased when the course experience can exceed previous expectations. I completely understand how frustrating it can be to be in an online class and not get feedback from a professor. I had this happen in a course several years ago. We didn’t hear back ALL SEMESTER and no one had any idea how they were doing in the last week of class. So yeah, I knew I didn’t want to be that type of teacher, for sure. I’m so happy to hear you are looking forward to the rest of the semester. I hope we all enjoy 8 more weeks of interaction! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • haleyhanks says:

      Ahh! I have no idea what I am doing in one of my classes and neither does any of the other students! We are just kind of figuring it out on our own, that is not how classes should be. Thanks for the comment, looking forward to the next 8 weeks! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

