ds106: What???

When I first heard of “ds106” I had no idea what it meant or what it was. When I clicked on the link I was pleasantly surprised. Ds106 is an online class that lets students choose how they want to complete their assignments, either by making a video, recording, or writing about it. Students are not forced to complete an assignment any specific way. This class is tailoring to how students want to learn and what will be most beneficial to them, which is AWESOME! It is an outlet for anyone to showcase their creativity by learning and technology.

22731293937_3341943b78_z.jpg

PhotoCC: Flickr

While exploring ds106, I found a multitude of great ideas, learning techniques, and dozens of great learning experiments and assignments. One of the things that stood out to me the most although, was a video that I watched that was created by students telling viewers why they loved this online class. One of the students explained that she loved how much feedback she got from other students around the world. This stood out to me because I have learned while taking on the journey of blogging that positive feedback from other people really boosts my confidence and makes me want to do more. The student explained how she has tried many things on her blog and on her online class that she would never of even tried if it were in the form of in class learning. When a student starts to build up confidence, there is no limit to what they can do!

I will most definitely be implementing this type of learning/teaching technique into my classroom. I feel that students will get more excited about learning if they have some sort of choice or say in how they approach the material. When constructing a project, a student is going to be more willing, motivated, and focused on topic when they get to create it using the learning style that they are most comfortable and confident with. If I had the choice in high school to complete some projects by writing about them instead of making videos of them, I feel that I would have done a much better job, and I would have been more interested in the project instead of being nervous about creating a video. I am the type of person who would much rather write a story than make a video or audio of it.

Ds106 is such a cool concept and I think that everyone should go check it out!

Here is the link to the website: Ds106

4 thoughts on “ds106: What???

  1. ryanlmosier says:

    I would have loved to do some of these videos or pictures on ds106 instead of writing about it. High school would have been much more interesting especially with projects. I like that you mentioned motivation because I feel like motivation is something that we keep coming back to as a class.

    Like

Leave a Reply

