ILP: Differentiated Instruction at Home

This week, I decided to focus a little more on how parents can differentiate every day tasks and instruction for their children at home. I thought about this because lately my main focus on my individualized learning project has been on how teachers can help benefit students at school educationally and personally, and then I started thinking about how much more children could be helped if their parents learned to differentiate too! By this I am meaning, if a child is struggling at home doing a chore, listening, or completing any task at home, parents should be educated on other ways to approach them about it. This does not go for only children with special needs, but for average children as well.

This topic triggered my interest because the other day when I was at home, my brother refused to clean his room when my mom told him too. I thought, oh man here we go, Jake is going to get into trouble. Instead, my mom calmly went into his room, told Jake that if he cleaned his room he would be able to invite a friend over later and she would make him one of his favorite foods, spaghetti. Jake snapped out of his bad mood and cleaned his room. I thought my mom had magic powers or something, but then a light bulb went off in my head. She used a form of differentiated instruction! Even though it kind of involved bribing him, it worked and she knew what she had to do to make him complete the task he was asked too do.

7719684740_5fa3090036

Photo CC: Emily Kidd 2012

Parents can help with their children’s education as well by using differentiated instruction at home. Getting Involved was a great source that showed my many different ways parents can get involved with their child’s education, while helping differentiate. Examples would be:

  1. If your child likes to have a steady routine, make sure to maintain the same routine every single day.
  2. Show your kids the value of learning by encouragement.
  3. Show interest in their school work, and listen to your children when they tell you how they learn best.
  4. Have good communication with your child’s teachers, it shows your children that you are connection with the school and that you care.

These are just a few simple tasks for parents to follow when trying to help their children become successful educationally and at home. It is going to be different for every single child and parent. The more you know your child and their ticks, likes, dislikes, and personality, the more differentiation will come easily to you.

This was just a simple blog to remind people that differentiation is not just at school! I am so excited to research more about the connection between school and home, and how they correlate in a child’s life.

7 thoughts on “ILP: Differentiated Instruction at Home

  1. mindycressdigitalliteracyspring2017 says:

    Haley, I think you nailed it with your blogs this week! Parents play a crucial role in their children’s education and they should know how to use differentiated instruction at home. With my observations within my local elementary school, a lot of the parents don’t continue education within their home, as I am observing at an at risk school. If they started incorporating some of the stuff the teacher does in the class room at home, I think the students will be able to achieve more. I also liked the 4 tips you provided within your blog, as I believe they are useful advice.

    Like

  2. barnardeducationblog says:

    Awesome topic! I love the way you made the connection between parent/kid and teacher/kid. Some kids don’t get discipline (or minimal) at home and then expect the same response from the teacher as they do their parent. A different approach is all it takes to get a different perspective! It also takes a lot of patience (mom thing)

    Like

  3. alondramunoz says:

    I really enjoyed reading your post! I think that the teacher isn’t the only one that can make a difference. I believe that the difference begins at home and what better ways than to help your child struggling even if it is something as simple as not listening or not wanting to do a chore!

    Like

  4. vmfank says:

    Differentiated Instruction can truly make a difference for a child. As future educators, we have learned that every child learns differently from the next. As a parent, I know this to be true too. What works for my oldest, 11, does not work for my other two who are 10 and 7. The more parents are involved with their children at home and at school will understand the needs of the child. My 10 year old has to have her math taught to her based on real life scenarios otherwise she doesn’t get it. Sometimes it can be tricky, but a must if I want her to succeed. Nice job!

    Like

    • haleyhanks says:

      It is so amazing how much of a difference a little tweak to ones education can make! I also can relate to your daughter, because I too only could learn math visually. It is so important to be educated on how to help each individual student the best you can!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

