…Being Creative…

The worlds greatest idea’s, inventions, philosophies, and pretty much anything else that came about amazing came from being one thing: Creative. Creativity is such a broad subject because the possibilities of it are endless.

I have always loved writing and putting my ideas on paper ever since I could remember. Poetry, in particular, has always held a special place in my heart. Because of my love of writing, I took a creative writing class last semester. This class opened up a whole new world of creativity for me. I got to listen to really talented writers speak what they have composed, and then I would build off of their ideas by adding and subtracting what I thought of in my head, and it all just came out to be a wonderful mess of creativity. I found in that class that free writing is one of my favorite things ever, but I also like a good structured assignment every once in a while. Writers block is a real thing.

I learned that carrying a journal is one of the smartest things that I have ever done. Ever. Whenever I get a little idea that I think might spark my interest later, I write it down in my notebook. These ideas have started to create some of my best pieces of writing that I have ever done. You never know when an idea will pop into your head, it could be while you’re traveling, eating, even sleeping.

As a future teacher, I will for sure be encouraging my students to be creative in everything that they do. Using creativity is a great way to make a boring assignment exciting. It also is a good way to make the student more ambitious to complete it if they get to apply their own creativity to it. Why not utilize your students creativity? No student is going to learn the same any way. They might even surprise you and think of something that could be very useful for you in future classrooms. I feel like students can teach teachers just as much as teachers teach them.

What I really love about being creative, is that you cannot be right or wrong with it. There is no concrete answer for it, and absolutely anyone can do it. What comes out of your creativity, is what helps mold you as an individual, and I just think that is so cool.

4663597482_23666b9f67_b.jpg

Photo CC: Maria Rosaria Amato

2 thoughts on “…Being Creative…

  1. kelseaprieels says:

    I really enjoyed reading this blog post! I think it is awesome that you were able to realize all of these things while taking your course last semester and I really like how you want to use it in your future classroom. I think that in today’s schools, there are a lot of teachers who forget how much creativity can help a student enjoy an assignment. By allowing students to use this creativity during assignment, it could help them learn the material better because they are enjoying it. I feel like myself and other students learn a lot better when they are actually enjoying the assignments instead of just doing everything out of the textbook. I think this is a great idea to use in your future classroom!

    Like

  2. 2shaye says:

    I think it’s wonderful that you carry a journal with you, by the way. It’s so important to jot down those thoughts and inspiring ideas right when they come to you. Excellent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

